A musical revelation – Vazhi Maraittirukkudhe

When you’re in the business of storytelling, you’re always going back to the ones that mean the most to you. Today, I thought I’d talk about my favorite one.

There’s a Carnatic composition that speaks to the core of my being. It stimulates all the emotions that make me who I am. It’s going to be a little tough to explain it, but I’ll be damned if I don’t try.

The song is called Vazhi Maraittirukkudhe set to the Ragam Natakurinji. It chronicles Tirunalaipovar’s devotion to the Lord Shiva and how it could basically move a mountain.

The lyrics:

Pallavi: vazhi maraittirukkudE malaipOlE oru mADu paDuttirukkudE
Anupallavi: pAvip-paraiyaninda Uril vandu nindru (innum) pAvam tIrEnO
pAdattil shErEnO ErEnO shivalOka nAthA
Charanam: tEraDiyil ninru darishittAlum pOdum kOvil vara mATTEn
OraDi vilaginAl pOdum ingE ninru uTrup-pArkka shaTrE Agilum vilagAdO mADu

The meaning:

Pallavi: My way (view) is blocked by a bull the size of a mountain
Anupallavi: I may be a sinner of the lowest caste, but won’t by sins be washed away even after coming to this holy land? Won’t I be allowed to fall at your feet?
Charanam: I will gladly stand under the chariot and accept your darshan… I shall not enter the temple. If the mountainous bull would just move over by a foot, I will be able to stand right here and stare at you to my heart’s content.

To set the stage:

So, the story I know goes like this. (Wikipedia has a very different idea of what happened).

At a time when casteism ran deep (deeper than it does now), a man from the lowest class wanted to visit a Shiva temple in Tiruppungur. Now, it is unclear why he wanted to visit this specific one, but let’s let his story just be.

He worked for a Zamindar who always brushed off his requests for a couple of days of leave, by saying he needed him to stay as there was too much work at the moment. And the day he longed for remained just out of reach.

As you might know, God never lets down his most devout followers – and He paid the Zamindar a visit in his dream and told him to let the guy have his day!

And then what happened?

Thirunalaipovar was ecstatic that he finally had the opportunity to visit this temple of his Lord. But when he got there, he realized he couldn’t see into the sanctum since Shiva’s vahanam, a bull, was in the way. As the lower castes weren’t allowed inside the temple, and having come thus far, he begged the Lord to allow him a glimpse at the very least.

In the end, the bull moves out of the way and Thirunalaipovar is able to pray to Shiva from where he stands.

Why it means so much to me.

This song is a reminder of how bad times were and how we, as a privileged class, can barely begin to grasp the depth of emotions, hurt and turmoil that was thrust upon others.

Looking down at someone is never a good way to live – do unto others and whatnot. It pains me to see it happen around me, but I am in no position to affect lasting change. And so, I do not try. I’m torn about whether that’s really the best way to go about living a regret-free life.

Something else that always gets me every time I listen to the song, is how he would not give up although things looked bleak. His pain comes through in the last line, ringing clear in my ears. He doesn’t ask for much, but he asks it with the humility of one who is unsure whether he deserves it.

There’s so much sadism in the world. People are always trying to one-up each other, or looking for the quickest way to power. Whatever happened to just asking nicely? What happened to being a decent person?

And of course, as the lore continues beyond the song, knowing that the Nandi (bull) is just off center unlike any other temple in India, renews my faith in well… faith.

It’s a simple joy that sort of makes me feel like everything is right in the world.

TTFN! Ta Ta For Now.

 

Leave a comment